Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label Cricket

Disgrace

The Black Caps loss to England this morning is the worst performance I have ever seen from a NZ team. They got themselves through a brilliant Ross Taylor innings with help from Mills and How into a great position. Vettori bowled beautifully to knock England over. A team with a lead of 170 or so should never be lose on a turning track. To capitulate as they did in the second innings was a disgrace. It was a stunning performance. The performances of Taylor, Oram and McCullum is not appropriate for that level. Taylor can be forgiven. The others needed to bat with some test sense. They only needed to bat sensibly as they did in the first innings and they would have batted England out of the game. Having said that, they should have been able to bowl England out on that track. I am a great fan of Vettori but he failed. Mills, Oram, O'Brien and Martin should have locked up one end and Dan should have bowled England out on a turning pitch with variable bounce. It is a long time since he bo...

Technology and Cricket

Why on earth does cricket not use technology more? It is great that they use technologies to adjudicate run outs, stumpings and the legitimacy of catches. I say why not go further and use it for caught behinds and for LBW's. Anti-technology proponents argue it will slow the game down. How could it possibly? The game is already slow. It will give us something to look at in between balls. In most cases one or two quick looks brings clarity. Another protest is that the LBW technology is not perfect yet. After watching cricket for the last 30 years I have to say it is more accurate than umpires! They haven't got a clue! Similarly the extreme close up and use of audio technology to hear sound makes caught behinds far more accurate through technology. I say get the umpire to go upstairs when it is unclear. The third umpire could even communicate to the on-field umpire when they feel something should get a second look. I know NZ were slaughtered by Sri Lanka at the World Cup and they ...

Bob Woolmer Etc

What a world cup! Pakistan out! India going out as I write, in huge trouble against the Sri Lankan's. But all this pales in significance to the killing of Bob Woolmer. It was strange from the start, it crossing my mind that it was suicide or murder. But murder it is. So who killed him? It seems to me the options are a random killing; a gambling syndicate; a disgrunted fan or fans; an upset player of team member; an act of terrorism. The last option has not been discussed. Is it possible that this is an act of terrorism to disrupt the tournament; the victim chosen because of a possible smoke screen concerning the other options. After all, Pakistan is right in the heart of the Al Qaeda situation. From this far away in distant NZ listening to the news, it seems to me that it is probably a gambling issue; it was someone (or more) who knew him. Whoever it is, I pray they are found and brought to justice. If it is a gambling syndicate then cricket is in trouble again. It is blighted with...

Cricket Stuff

Oh yeah, Go England! Who would have thought that England would give the Aussies a 2-nil thrashing in the Tri-Series! Outstanding. It also makes me wonder how the Ashes would have gone if this English side had had a decent build up. But maybe that is irrelevant. Hats off; and they did it without Pieterson! Fantastic. I think the Aussies had it coming! Now does this get the NZ team off the hook because it turns out that the English are a good team? No way! They really are under achieving at present. Our talkbacks are clogged with criticism and defence of Stephen Fleming; 'should he stay of should he go?' Well it is clear to me that Fleming is not himself. On his last trip over the Tasman he was sensational, dominating the Aussies. Then there was his demolition of the South African Graeme Smith several years ago. He is not the same man, down on passion, down on confidence and down on form. Sure he got a ton in the final game, but it was not his usual free-flowing innings. I do not...

Murali?

It has to be the biggest disgrace in world cricket that within a year or 5 the greatest wicket taker in the world will be a chucker. I know such a view is not popular in today's PC world and in a world where the Asian force in cricket is huge, but it is ridiculous. Warne is a freak and it is a tragedy that he will set a record that will be quickly eclipsed by Murali. Without doubt Warne is the greatest spinner of all time and his legacy will be stamped out by an bowler who breaks the essential rule of cricket, he is a chucker! Watching him in the recent NZ series, he is certainly testing the 15 degree mark! But what is this 15 degree mark anyway? Who established that? It is an act of legitimation to avoid seeking to deal with the backlash that would come if Murali was banned as he should be! Anyone who throws a ball around knows that you can't bowl a leggie with an off-spin action unless you chuck. It is a shocker that the opportunity was not taken when he first hit the scene t...