Skip to main content

Posts

Showing posts with the label World Cup

AB's and France

Great start! Wow, that first 20 was freakish! Italy were blown away. Carter was great, McCaw sensational, Williams brilliant! Way to go. Now the French! Well it is actually no surprise; Argentina has had the wood on France for a few years now. France may still top the pool. Let's say Ireland beat Argentina and France beat Ireland, all eminently possible; it may still see France top the pool. What this has done to me is made the last 3 games fearsome for NZ. If we hit France in the quarters that is very possible; then we will have Aussie and SA in the semi and final. This will be a tough world cup to win. We are the best team; have the best players; but it does not mean we will win it. Injuries will mean a lot. We are already in a bit of trouble with Smith, Robinson and Thorne out for a while. Let's hope they are not bad injuries. Aussie are definitely a better team than 12 months ago as is SA. It is going to be a huge ask!

Bob Woolmer Etc

What a world cup! Pakistan out! India going out as I write, in huge trouble against the Sri Lankan's. But all this pales in significance to the killing of Bob Woolmer. It was strange from the start, it crossing my mind that it was suicide or murder. But murder it is. So who killed him? It seems to me the options are a random killing; a gambling syndicate; a disgrunted fan or fans; an upset player of team member; an act of terrorism. The last option has not been discussed. Is it possible that this is an act of terrorism to disrupt the tournament; the victim chosen because of a possible smoke screen concerning the other options. After all, Pakistan is right in the heart of the Al Qaeda situation. From this far away in distant NZ listening to the news, it seems to me that it is probably a gambling issue; it was someone (or more) who knew him. Whoever it is, I pray they are found and brought to justice. If it is a gambling syndicate then cricket is in trouble again. It is blighted with...